Monday, December 15, 2008

just today

I'm not anti dog or anything. I'm not anti any animal.... but before Nuno came into my life I had ALWAYS wanted a cat. I think I can partly attribute this to the fact that as a Leo I've always had this obsession with anything feline, being one myself (astrologically speaking). ALthough, I don't believe I'll ever be able to have another cat... I respect that all people and animals all have their very own wonderful qualities... but Nuno, idiosyncrasies and all, was the best of the best.

I miss you, poo....

Ma

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Nuno: April 3, 1991 - November 25, 2008


My beloved soulmate passed away on November 25th. Nuno had been with me for half of my life and was with me giving me unconditional love through some of my darkest times. It is because of Nuno that I am alive today. My love for him made staying in this world worth wild, despite my pain... he gave me a reason to be here. Nuno saved my life. Nuno will forever be in my heart and while I know that there will be more sadness and pain ahead because he is no longer here with me, I will hold his memory deep inside and remember all the years of love, happiness, companionship, laughter and play that we shared.
In Nuno's passing, it is deeply painful to blog on his behalf. Instead, I will try to use his blog to keep his memory alive.
I miss you and will love you always and forever, Poo. You ARE my heart. No one will ever take your place... my first and last love. Love & kisses forever, Ma





Sunday, November 23, 2008

Celebrity Rehab 2, Episode 5

I'm a little late on my Celebrity Rehab recap and commentary, but I'm feeling better today and I'm up to doing my blog. So here goes....

Oh, dear, sweet, broken Steven Adler. I’m not female or human, but I’ll adopt him and be his mother. In fact, I’m going to talk to my mom about getting her to beat the crap out of his piece of human garbage mother. I’m sure she’s already thinking about it herself considering what a fucking bitch that Mrs. Adler is! She refuses to see how her actions have hurt or impacted her own son and to take responsibility for her actions. I’m sure she was hurt in life, too... and perhaps somebody owes her an apology. But the least she can do is own up to her actions and apologize to her son for her actions and how she’s hurt him, whether it was intentional or not. No real mother can sit there the way she did like a big old brick of ice and not feel somewhat responsible for her sons present state. She can’t see anything past herself. I’d like to utilize the "c" word here, but I know I’ll be in deep shit with mom if I do. I know she’s not fond of me using the "f" word but she’ll will tolerate it given the circumstances, but she’s not quite so forgiving on the use of he "c" word. But I’m sure my suggestion alone of using it communicates my depth of feeling quite clearly. It would just feel better to say or type it.

Dr. Drew is truly amazing. What a way he has of defusing a situation, all the while maintaining calm, getting all to quiet and focus. That whole Busey/Conaway stand-off was quite something. I think they should both go – they are way too disruptive to to the rest of the gang and their recovery process. I’ve coined the phrase "Busey-crazy", but now after Thursday’s episode, I see behavior in Jeff Conaway that mandates the creation of yet another phrase... and that is "Conaway-kookie." The man is clearly unhinged with dual personalities over which he has absolutely no control. I don’t think he even realizes how off the chart he is because he’s too busy calling everyone else crazy!

And I really like that nice Mr. Rodney King I really believe there is such a gentle soul inside that man. I know that there is anger and hurt beneath the surface, but all I see is this man who wants clam and peace and no conflict. He wants general niceness and mutual consideration among all. And who can blame him? Why can’t we all just get along?

Thursday, November 20, 2008

No Worries

My dear friends, worry not. I am home and doing OK. I'm just very tired and waiting for my tests to come back so I can start on some medication to help me feel better. I'm old and I have to come to terms with this. I've lived a long time with only a health skirmish here and there - nothing major. This turn in health was inevitable. I am lucky to have avoided any probems all this time. Unfortunately, someone needs to help my mom accept this. She is NOT having an easy time of this and despite her incredible strength, I fear she will either fall apart or hide in a deep cave of denial. She is an emotional woman but likes to mask her feelings to be tough... so instead she'll get angry, deny she's hurting, say she doesn't care, pretend she isn't worried, act like something doesn't matter, go into all out bitch mode, and of course use insults, sarcasm and humor to deflect (her general MO in life) - you name it. Anything to avoid showing her vulnerability. But when it comes to me, she goes soft. I am her emotional kryptonite. So, I have saved up my energy this afternoon with naps so that I can spend some time with mom to reassure her that I'm ok and not going anywhere. We'll chill & cuddle in bed like we've done for 17 1/2 years and tonight we'll watch Dr. Drew together and be thankful we are not those people!

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

"Freaks R Us"

Entertainment news has reported that Michael Jackson may be too ill to travel or leave the house, thus jeopardizing his ability to tour in 2009 with the rest of the twisted Jackson clan. Personally, I never thought he was “well” enough to be out in public in the first place, but I think that’s another kind of “ill”. But I digress. The rumor was that he has pneumonia. Jackson’s publicist is now stating that Jackson does not have pneumonia. Well, pneumonia or not, I was under the assumption that all of Jackson’s body parts, systems and fluids have long since been replaced with some man-made synthetics rendering him impervious to any illness (beside mental), disease and making him totally germ resistant. I seriously believe if you were to poke the man with a needle, he would not bleed blood, but simply leak whatever synthetic platelet-less substance some scientist produced as the result of some field research in Baboodie, South America in the basin of the Amazon. Does the man not sleep in a tank wearing a breathing apparatus of recycled air and free of any germ and particles. I personally believe this air is combined with a gas derivative of formaldehyde which is necessary to preserve his body and keep it from falling apart or simply disintegrating. Anyway, back to this 2009 tour of the whole Jackson Clan. What freakin-ass kind of people would actually buy tickets to attend this sort of freak show? Is there not enough horror, enough imbeciles, enough senseless and idiotic behavior available on TV to fulfill this sick societal need for amusement? Humans, you are spiraling downward at a frightening pace. I fear you have all created your own doom are only serving to foster and fuel your own moral corruption. Do standards, dignity and integrity mean nothing to you?

Sunday, November 16, 2008

Celebrity Rehab 2, Episode 4

OK, I have one word for Kenikie: "WAAAAAAAAAAAH!" Is is horrible that the man is in such pain emotionally and physically because of his back - of course. But I am SO sick of hearing him whine and bitch and moan. Go home, Kenikie!

I was so relieved to see Amber Smith’s mother accept some help for her own addiction. The co-dependency in that mother-daughter relationship is frightening! But both women need help... It’s Dr. Drew to the rescue!

Why is Rodney King there? I think I saw him all of 3 times in this episode and all 3 times he was helping Kenikie – massaging his back or shoulders, trying to make him feel better. I think someone should do something nice for that nice Mr. Rodney King.

I am no longer referring to Miss. Tawny Kittaen as Tawny... Her name is Julie. Julie is a good person. I wish they wouldn’t bleep out certain words or portions in their therapy... we’re not getting the full story. I feel as though if they’ve all agreed to be on this show, they understand the nature of the material that’s bound to come up and that the show should not censor certain information by bleeping out words or certain details. It’s not fair. Besides, I’d like to know who molested poor Julie so I can make a few phone calls to have him "taken care of."

I’m thinking of writing to Miriam Webster Dictionary and petitioning for the entry and validation of a new word/phrase in the English language: "Busey-crazy". It’s that wild-eyed, wackadoo hair, huge teeth and manical state of instability a person reaches.

Thursday, November 13, 2008

Mean People Suck

My mom came home last night VERY annoyed and upset. She walked around the house all night saying how she can’t understand people, and completely baffled by how there can be so much human garbage among us. She was muttering “what the fuck is wrong with people?”… and then she was sputtering out ideas of revenge. I can’t repeat the things she told me because quite honestly the fact that those thoughts are rattling around in her brain and that she even can come up with this shit scares me. I was going to ask her what set her off and got her so worked up, but I decided that keeping my distance was best. I was a little leery about sleeping with her in her bed last night after having this new and disturbing insight into her mind and knowing what she’s capable of, but I figured I was safe – I’m her baby. I gotta tell ya though, I’m kinda impressed with her… she’s pretty creative when it comes to plotting revenge and torture. I should give Wes Craven or the director of Saw a heads up…. Mom could give them both a run for their money.

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Groove is in the Heart.

Last night dad was teasing me as usual during my quiet time with mom – I think he does it because he’s jealous when her attention and affections are directed towards me and not him – and mom, as usual, came to my defense and told him to stop and leave me alone, but then she blurted out, “He’s old”. Hello!?! OK, I realize I’m far from being a kitten and I guess those middle age years have long since passed me by, but the years don’t take a toll on my spirit or my heart. I may not pounce after catnip filled toys, stalk straggly strings and leap carelessly from furniture anymore, but it does not mean my heart and soul can’t keep up. Like the Dee-Lite song goes, the groove is in the heart. I hear and feel the music and while my paws can’t keep up with the beat, nor can they learn new crazy dance steps, I am grooving 100% within my heart. I may be old, but I’m not down for the count!

Monday, November 10, 2008

Celebrity Rehab 2, Episode 3

I have been a tad remiss in blogging lately, but it’s due to the excitement and craziness going on at our house due to the impending house purchase… as well as the fact that I have just had nothing very interesting to blog about or anything I felt share-worthy. But, I have since watched Episode 3 of Celebrity Rehab and I now have tons I’d like to expound upon.

Tawny Kittaen…. I think I am in love with Tawny. Is it because her name is so feline-like? Perhaps… but I think that is only part of the appeal. I never used to like the woman… ever since her rise to fame after appearing in the Whitesnake videos and her marriage to Whitesnake lead man David Coverdale, she just annoyed the hell out of me. Every appearance of hers I found her just generally unappealing, unlovable and ugly, despite her exterior beauty. Well, it appears that age, life experience and going more than her fair share of rounds with addiction have made her a very beautiful and attractive person… both physically and in personality. She speaks very intelligently, with great empathy and care and consideration of others and she does have a certain inner glow or sparkle that I find irresistible. Her likability factor has increased immensely – if she can stay clean, I see wonderful things for her. And I deem her worthy and deserving of such greatness.

Gary Busey… Busey, Busey, Busey… head injury or not, I don’t believe he is in the proper setting and nor is he among the right group of peers in which to receive appropriate and effective treatment. His brain trauma is too profound, contributing too many variables and complications in his disease and his behavior. Dr. Drew can share with the group all he wants about Busey’s biological challenges, but it truly does NOT make him less of a source of annoyance. All is does is create a sense of obligation on the part of the others to expend more energy in tolerating Busey as they navigate his tumultuous and confusing behavior. He remains a major source of distraction and annoyance to all.

Jeff Conway. A total pathetic has been… can’t get out of his Kenikie and Taxi days. He needs to get out of the way-back zone and into the here and now. Also a drama queen if ever there was one. He’s more annoying than Tyra Banks. I saw previews for next week where he is calling 911 telling them he’s being held against his will… he’s a hopeless loser. Let him go home already. Moving on….

Rodney King & the red headed American Idol chick who is so not a celebrity that I can’t even remember her name… are they even on the show and receiving treatment or are they just fillers to take up space in group therapy scenes?

Steven Adler… OK, I can see how mom totally had the hots for him back in the day when he was with Guns and Roses. I can see the guy he must have been then, and I see a very kind and hurting soul underneath the exterior mess. I think the man aches to receive love and feel love. I also sense a great capacity and desire to give love. I would also like my mom to go beat the crap out of his mother.

Amber model girl. I can’t quite figure her out… gonna have to watch next week when Mommie Dearest comes to visit.

Sean Stewart. He comes off as this rich spoiled brat rock star’s kid who’s always had everything handed to him and never had to work a day in his life. I have issues with this and my ability to move past it is impacting my ability to empathize. I’ll need to know more about him.

Thursday, November 6, 2008

Welcome All

It has come to my attention that there may be a few of our brethren out there who have been quietly following the blogs of Nuno, Parker, Bob & Tobey, but have been reluctant to provide any commentary, share their thoughts and feelings, do a little story-telling and interact with our fun group. I could hazzard a guess as to the reason behind their reticence to participate, but it could be any number of things, so let’s just skip all of the speculation and get down to business....


I openly welcome and encourage all fellow cats and dogs, who are literate and have access to a computer, to join in our blogging community. We are a community of fur and love, wet noses and soft paws, wagging tails and wagging tongues.... and we welcome you with open paws.

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Mission Accomplished

Rufus was hanging out the other day, picking through the leaf piles looking for dropped candy from Halloween trick-or-treaters. He loves Snickers and Peanut M&M’s… I’ll have t remind him not to give any to Parker – dogs aren’t supposed to have chocolate. Anyway, while he was on his candy scavenger hunt, he overheard Mrs. Dirtbag from the Sanford & Son house talking to one of our good neighbors. The conversation has revealed the underlying cause behind their recent attempts at “home improvements.” It seems that Mrs. Dirtbag, the people who live in the house across from them (whom we’ll call the messy Rooster house) and the people who live in the corner house diagonally from the Dirtbags (whom we’ll call the broken down 80’s limo and jungle house) all got letters from the town addressing their infractions on the town blight laws. All three houses were instructed to address specific items respective to their properties.

Since then, there has been some improvement, but all three houses still look like ass. The Sanford & Son house now has a brown fence but it is still not fully enclosing the property so you can still see the disgusting contents of their yard. And, they have replaced that makeshift garage that they dissembled with a new one. Was Johnny #5 over there saying “Reassemble Stephanie. Reassemble.”?....

Now the Rooster House has never been quite so bad… they try very hard to keep the house looking presentable but it’s always cluttered, and I believe the main point of contention to be the roosters, of which they have more than one. Now contrary to popular belief, roosters do not only crow at the break of dawn. They do it before dawn and all throughout the day, up until dark. I don’t think having the roosters is illegal… only if the people are using them for cock-fighting, which would have to be proven. Dad laughs when I say cock-fighting. He’s so immature.

Now, as for the Limo and Jungle House… it also still looks like ass. This house has had a broken down circa 1980 model limo sitting on their front lawn since before the day we moved into the neighborhood. The house and limo have been left to be consumed by weeds and all sorts of plant life, including bright green moss. While it appears that the people who reside within the house have made an attempt to clear out some of that vegetation, the limo still sits there. I don’t understand the purpose of keeping old, broken down cars on your property. Will someone PLEASE explain this to me? Finding the answer to this question may be my new mission....

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

Election Day

I did not vote today. There are two reasons.... one being that both candidates suck ass, and two being that cats are not allowed to vote. So I guess I should really have no opinion on the matter altogether, but I do. And I will share it with you all. I feel that as an American, it is nice (in theory) that each dividual has the right to have a say in who their leader is. That being said and knowing how many Americans do actually vote, why are there so few choices for the position of president? There are millions and millions of people in the United States of America.... and collectively they can only present TWO (sometimes three) individuals to choose from? Something is wrong with this math. It does not make sense mathematically. So either the laws of math are non-existant in the election process... an idea that scares me given the ballot counting process probably follows suit. Or, the job of president is a really shitty job. How come we can get hundreds of thousands of moronic idiots to try out for and vie for the title of American Idol, yet we can only get two to vie for the position of American President? And when both candidates suck, we are told to vote for the lesser of two evils. Yeah, as if that makes a difference. Evil is evil. I'm glad to be a cat... I just vote for longer naps and more tuna.

Saturday, November 1, 2008

Celebrity Rehab 2, Episode 2

Well, mom and I are all caught up on Celebrity Rehab Season 2, Episode 2. After a full evening of spell-casting and concoction-brewing, tricks and raising spirits from the dead, we hunkered down in bed to watch Thursday night’s episode.

OK, so first we need to address Busey. The man is clearly in the wrong place. He has sustained serious brain trauma that has severely impacted his ability to relate within normal social boundaries with others and this brain trauma has created a whole slew of neuropsychological factors that require very specific medication and treatment. I believe that all of the other addicts have enough to deal with and a hard road ahead of them that they do not need the extra burden of his presence there in rehab. His behavior is not only unsettling and unpredictable, but he is obviously causing a great deal of distraction and discomfort among the other patients. Busey needs a different treatment center that specializes in treating patients with brain trauma. His presence is only a deterrence to the treatment of the others. It’s not right to jeopardize the recovery of others because of just one patient. Anyway, does this look like a sane person?

Now for Kenike. I hate saying it, but the man is a lost cause. And I’m a little fed up with him. He pulled the same shit in Season 1: He wants to leave, starts ranting and raving, threatening to go, get’s everyone else all worked up, makes everyone corral around him and talk him into staying and telling him what a great guy he is. The guy is a egocentric, ego maniacal, self-pitying addict who wants to wallow in his own disease. I say let him. And let everyone who WANTS to get better, get better. They’re better off without him around. And what’s the deal with his vampiress girlfriend? Yikes!

I’m a little concerned about my mother. Normally she’s got a pretty good head on her shoulders, but she’s starting to talk about wanting some one-on-one sessions with Dr. Drew. And I don’t think she intends to take up a drug habit in order to do this....

Friday, October 31, 2008

Happy Halloween!

Today is Halloween, and it belongs to me. I am so excited. You can’t tell just from looking at me because it’s a cool, contained excitement you need to be a cat in order to recognize. You see, felines don’t get over-emotional or wear their emotions as dramatically and brazenly as humans and canines do. But it is MY night. I am a wicked ass black cat. The entire world fears me and bends to my every whim. No one dares to cross my path. I am a harbinger of bad luck… and destruction and chaos arise in my wake. Mischief and malevolent high jinks are my trade… and tonight I am truly alive and whole within my realm. Long ago, our witch mistresses would be ostracized by society and burned alive at the stake in the public square, where the community including children looked on in horror. We black cats were tortured and killed if captured. I honestly can’t understand what made them fear our mystical powers so. My mom is a witch, however, in today’s world she’s called a bitch. Luckily, they no longer kill bitches….but rather society simply does not give them respect and admiration their talents deserve.

Halloween is not just about costumes, candy, jack-o-lanterns, apple bobs, bonfires, and parties as my dim-witted, dopey canine brother would have you believe. It’s about magic, spells, hexes, supernatural forces, the sprits of the dead, séances and wreaking havoc upon the unsuspecting. Tonight my mom and I will gather around her cauldron and cast spells on the underlings who walk the earth among us.

By the way, the song “Thriller” is NOT an acceptable auditory icon with which I want Halloween to be associated. Halloween does NOT need a theme song, let alone a song from that freak Michael Jackson. While freaks may seem quite fitting with the spirit of Halloween, Michael Jackson is a different kind of freak. Hence, we do not want the association. If I hear “Thriller” one more time today, I am going to put a hex on Michael Jackson. Although considering his long history of unconventional and outright bizarre behavior, I don’t think there’s anything I could do that would make people even bat an eye. I could give him the head of a frog and people would just think it was another one of his plastic surgeries. He needs to just disappear. Hmmm, there’s an idea. Now if I can just find that spell, my jar of goat vomit and stash of warthog hair….

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Curiosity Can't Kill Me

Well, it’s official. We’re all clueless. We cannot figure out what the hell is going on over at the House of Garbage next door and what exactly has spurred the sudden clean-up and home-improvement kick they’re on. Don’t get me wrong – the place still looks like ass. However, much to my surprise they have actually COMPLETED the painting of the fence… in its entirety. Not only is it the only intact structure on their property, but it’s the only thing that is one unified single color. To say that I'm amazed they have completed this task is an understatement, as it has been my observation that the only thing they’ve ever successfully completed was a six pack of beer.

You know that saying about curiosity killing the cat? Well, first of all I am curious beyond belief. Second, I am too old to be afraid of death… besides, I am as indestructible as I am beautiful. I will probably out live everyone I know. So, that being said, I need and will get to the bottom of this all. I have decided to run an ad in the Daily Beagle for a dog of any breed to be my mole. I believe all three dogs at the house are male, and I am torn between hiring a male or female for the job. A male could infiltrate, act as best buds and they’ll in all likelihood let him in on what’s going on around there but it would take time. However, males are quick to exclude or reject possible new members for the most ridiculous reasons. Males also are not so willing to share outside of their own little private societies. Also, you get more than 3 of them together and they begin functioning on 2 single brain cells between the three of them. It’s a collective stupidity tank. Another downfall and erhaps the worst of all… they may actually end up luring another male into their world, rendering an otherwise intelligent and moral male completely useless… making him one of them.

Now a female on the other hand, providing she’s hot, but not a whore, could get them to divulge even their deepest darkest secrets. Males become the weakest creatures on the planet around a female of their species. They also become more stupid, if that’s at all possible. So maybe a female will work best. Now how do I make sure she’s not easy? If she lets any of them hump her too soon, she’s out of the game. This particular female wil have to will power and moral fortitude to resist their sexual advancements as well as her own female urges. Once a male gets what he’s after, he’s got no use for the female. As long as she holds out and keeps them captivated, tongues lolling out of their mouths, drooling like hapless fools, she can get all the information she wants.

Yep, definitely need to hire a female for the job… if it’s to be done right.

Monday, October 27, 2008

Love, exciting and new.... come aboard, we're expecting you....

You ever just have a song stuck in your head that will just not get out no matter what you do? You think about everything else in the world BUT that song. And you sing or hum just about every other song you know hoping that it will replace or dislodge the one that’s stuck or just erase it altogether. Sometimes it works. You go about an hour without a single note, not a trace of music or a song in your head... and then something happens that shakes the tune back into your consciousness or nothing at all happens and you just find yourself absentmindedly singing it again out of the blue. And it always happens to be a completely hideously annoying song. Usually a product jingle, or even worse, a TV sitcom theme song. I have had the theme to the Love Boat stuck in my head for the last three days. The song in itself is not a bad one...but when I sing it, it sounds like Larry the Lounge Lizzard in some smoky, tacky Las Vegas dive. If this persists, I don’t think I can go on living....

Saturday, October 25, 2008

Dr Drew - Season 2, Episode 1

Well, I am convinced that Gary Busey is out of his ever-lovin’ mind. The man is certifiably, feather-plucking insane! And it can’t all be from drugs. We are talking the result of major head trauma here. It’s actually really very sad. Head traumas and brain injuries really screw a person up. We’re talking major need for neuropsychotic medications here because their wiring has been jostled around. To an extent, it’s not their fault. I mean, the guy was manic and completely off the wall with every word and thought coming out of his mouth. You look in the man’s eyes and you can tell there’s no connection to reality. I got anxious and nervous just watching the guy on TV... I couldn’t imagine what it must be like being in a room with him. I’m amazed and astounded, however, even more so by Dr. Drew’s ability to handle Busey and the situation and ambiance he creates. The way Dr. Drew recognizes, takes control of and diffuses a situation or issue without drawing attention to the issue at all. He makes a silent, seemingly simple and casual pre-emptive strike. I love his facial expressions and responses as well. The man is a master with addicts. I love this man. If I was gay, I’d be IN love with this man. Besides, have you seen him in a t-shirt?!? Holy crap! The man is pretty ripped for a nerd! I think my mom secretly has the hots for him and dad just thinks that mom likes the drama of the addicts, but what she really lusts after is Dr. Drew Pinsky. Sensitivity, brains and a hod bod... What’s not to like? I bet he’s ultra passionate in bed and attentive to a woman’s needs.... Just what every woman wants.

And that Rodney King. Wow. All I can say is that I really feel for the guy. You know, I don’t like the fact that this show makes an issue of these "poor celebrities with drug problems and how it’s an overwhelming and increasing epidemic among them". That’s horse shit – there are millions of Average Joe Citizens who have these same exact problems ad it’s an increasing epidemic within society! I do not feel bad for these celebrities. What makes them more deserving of anyone’s attention and empathy? However, I do feel for Rodney King... especially if his addiction problems resulted from the beating and living the aftermath. Technically he’s no celebrity. He was Joe Citizen who never asked to be in any spotlight. And did you see how when Dr. Drew asked him vaguely about any "physical incidents or injury" how King didn’t even acknowledge the beating. Awful! This will be a season to watch.

Friday, October 24, 2008

Celebrity Rehab 2

Last night I tuned in for the new season of Celebrity Rehab starring my favorite Addiction MD, Dr. Drew Pinsky. Unfortunately, I passed out after 15 minutes… being in bed with mom is so warm and cozy, there’s nothing better. Relaxation and comfort overwhelmed me and I was a gonner. Luckily, mom recorded the show, and we’ll watch it in its entirety tonight. I must say I am amazed by the condition of some of those celebs. Steven Adler?!!!…. Mom used to want him in a major way when he was the drummer for Guns & Roses. I’ve seen his picture from the CD jacket – Whoa! He looks like something definitely chewed him up and spat him out… repeatedly! And forget drugs – I’m convinced after seeing the first 15 minutes that Gary Busey must have endured more than one brain trauma and/or head injury in his lifetime. That, my friends, is not the sole work of drugs!!!! Tawny Kittaen most definitely had work done on her. Too bad one of her procedures wasn’t a lobotomy. Anyway, tonight should be most entertaining.

Speaking of rehab… even in the midst of this new season’s premiere and long list of troubled patients, Dr. Drew did take the time to phone me personally to discuss Lenny and Squiggy’s progress. While both made it through detox, Lenny is withdrawn and silent in therapy. He is reluctant to share with other patients in group therapy, and even with Dr. Drew during their one-on-one session he remains guarded. It’s still early in the process, so Dr. Drew is being optimistic… sure that in time he will open up. Squiggy, on the other hand, takes on a strong participative role in both group and individual therapy. Dr. Drew is amazed by his ability to connect with the other patients and is very supportive of them. His ability to empathize and still remain objective and thoughtful makes him very popular among other patients. Dr. Drew deems him to be one of those special few who are natural-born confidants… the one to whom others innately are drawn and open up.

Well, time for a snack. I think I’ll munch on some of those roasted pumpkin seeds….

Thursday, October 23, 2008

A Masterpiece

Ta-da! My Halloween jack-o-lantern masterpiece is complete. Not only was I blessed with great looks, but I’ve just tapped into a new talent... pumpkin carving. And the wonderful thing is that I’ve got Parker to do all the gross stuff and the grunt work. He removed all the pumpkin guts and was in charge of cleaning up all the little chunks of pumpkin shell as I toiled away, channeling my inner Michelangelo. Now wait a minute, don’t get me wrong – I am utterly fabulous, but I’m no Michelangelo. So right now, Parker’s in the kitchen rinsing the pumpkin seeds and salting them. Mom won’t trust him with the oven, so she’ll have to roast the seeds for us. Yum! Anyway, I’m thinking I’ll put my masterpiece outside by the front door and once it rots, I’ll stuff it with poop from my litter box and have Rufus drop it from a tree onto the white trash neighbor’s truck. Treats for me, tricks for them!

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

What Would You Do?....

I’m lying here on a very dreary and cold autumn day contemplating what I would do for a Klondike Bar. Just how far would I go? In the commercials, people do senseless, trivial stuff like imitate a monkey. Yeah, as if that’s a big stretch for most humans…. both by basic theory of evolution and physiology, and then mentally. Humans are not the most intelligent creatures on the planet and they tend to embarrass themselves easily and far too often. I’m continuously amazed by this fact. One would think that after 17 years observing the moronic behaviors of humans, that I would be unphased and unshockable by their actions. But they just keep plummeting in intelligence and dignity as they achieve new levels of idiocy. Take for example American Idol. I’ve watched the tryouts… forced myself to endure a few hours in the attempt to understand the hubbub and bizarre fascination with it. Suffice it to say, I just don’t get it. All I saw was frighteningly large masses of people very eager to make total asses of themselves on national television in from of millions of viewers. I understand that many of these morons are doing it as a ruse, for their own amusement… for the sole purpose of having the slim chance of their brief clip of ridiculousness being aired on television. And for this slim chance, they really don’t mind acting like assholes. They have no shame. And then you’ve got the poor clueless, tone-deaf buffoons for whom you almost feel sorry… the ones who succeed in making complete spectacles of themselves and who suck, but truly believe with every fiber of their being (and some with actual endorsement and praise from family and friends) that they are good. And some spectators even feel compelled to tears as they watch their reactions as Simon, Randy and Retardo Paula squash their egos and rip apart their performances.

So I wonder… how low would you go? And would you do it for a Klondike Bar?

Monday, October 20, 2008

...and hence, a fence!

Rufus has advised me that the dirtbags next door have been banging away all weekend at their "renovations". They have replaced only some portions of their rotting fence with new prefabricated fence slabs and left the other rotting ones there to, well, rot. I guess they have some half-wit system of determining which portions were in a worse state of decay and in more need of replacement. Staying true to form, in a pathetic half-assed, white-trash attempt to fake out passers-by and those who have more than 4 functioning brain cells, they have decided to camoflauge this now half rotted and half brand spanking new fence (which makes it a mediocre piece of crap fence) with brown paint. Now, I’m not quite sure why making this fence uniform in its appearance is of any particular concern to them...

You see, the shack they live in has four sides. Three of these sides have been refaced with aluminum siding in a surprisingly pleasant neutral shade of beige while the fourth is only half done with the unfinished portion left a blaring smurf blue. This has been like this for more than a year and a half. The shack also has a roof which has been re-shingled. Well, partially. To date, only 3/4 of the roof is done. The rest of the roof is covered with a plastic construction tarp, in that wonderful shade of smurf blue, which is held down by some strategically placed cinder blocks. This, too, has been like this for more than a year and a half. I’d like to reserve some optimism here in regard to the roof, as I believe it may get completed because at some point in the near future they will need those cinder blocks to support one of the many broken down wrecks they always have littering their yard.

So back to the fence, I’m not surprised by their choice in color - brown - it’s dark and it will cover all the dirt and rot and crap. But I’m willing to bet a lifetime supply of tuna that we will never see a completely brown fence. They will get half to three-quarters of the way done and just stop painting. And along that fence line, where they stop, something smurf blue colored will magically appear. You just wait and see....

Sunday, October 19, 2008

October


October is my favorite month. Autumn truly begins, the air becomes cool and crisp, there is the delightful aroma of wood-burning stoves and fireplaces, the deliciousness of mom baking things with apples and pumpkins, mums decorate homes in their wonderful fall hues, there are days of apple picking and hay rides and corn mazes, hot mulled cider, a month of horror movies on cable TV in anticipation of Halloween and, of course, there is Halloween itself. I’m not big on candy, and being as stunningly handsome as I am, I feel it’s a sin to don a costume which would only mask my natural beauty. Instead, I take great pride in the basking in the glory of being a black cat. This is the only time of year that you can find any merchandise in stores bearing a black cat and the only time that people think black cats are cool... let alone give black cats a single thought. We’re a novelty, really. The rest of the year it’s all about tabby’s, soft grey kittens, siamese, calicos, etc.... everything BUT black cats. I could go on about how wrong this is, but I’m more than 17 years old and this is a fact of life to which become accustomed and simply accepted. It is what it is. But I’d like to take this opportunity to let everyone know that first and foremost, black cats are not unlucky or evil. Also, we do not bear any magical powers or ride on the backs of booms with witches. We are every bit as lovable as other cats. We just have a bum rap because the whole Halloween connection. So the next time you see a black cat, please think nice thoughts... we are not evil. And, have a happy Halloween.


Now if you'll excuse me... I must go as I have to get some eye of newt for a new potion I’ve got simmering in the cauldron, and I’ve got some eggs rotting to perfection so they’re just perfect for pelting at trick-or-treaters.

Friday, October 17, 2008

The Dirtbag Son Returns

I don’t know where he has been and I don’t know why he came back, but I sure as hell hope he isn’t staying. Rufus advised that the son has been seen in the white trash Sanford & Son (not red, but green) pick-up truck, the bed filled haphazardly with filthy old furniture, and a female passenger sitting up front. I’ve been told that this female passenger accompanying the dirtbag son does not look or behave like a typical dirtbag girlfriend, so we’ll have to pay close attention to this. I could not live with myself if I stood by and watched a nice girl get sucked down into the toilet with the likes of these people. Now if Parker was better behaved and if he could put his socialization issues aside for the good of the mission, I could send him over to the scumbag house to befriend the three resident dogs and he would be my mole. His job would be to infiltrate the group, act like and be accepted as one of them without causing suspicion. I’m going to give this some more thought… the idea is a good one and it might just work. After all, the squirrel can only get so close and he always stands the risk of being eaten by one of the dogs or being pelted out of a tree with rocks by an evil child. Parker may not be the right canine for the job, which means I’ll have to find another.

On a happier note, Lenny & Squiggy got off safely for the rehab in CA with Dr. Drew Pinsky. I did make two requests of the airline, that they were NOT to seat them anywhere near the rear of the plane where they may inhale the fumes from the fuel, and they were not to be served alcohol no matter what cute faces and soft purring noises they made. It would not be good for them to show up at the rehab high from vapor inhalation or drunk from airline booze. I should add that one cute little airline booze bottle may do nothing for a human’s consumption, but for a cat it’s like a full liter bottle! However, Dr. Drew called me not long ago to advise me that they arrived safely and not inebriated from any substances. In fact, they were so exhausted, that they did not protest the routine bag search at check-in and then went straight to their rooms to sleep. I’m told that once they clear detox, they will be allowed limited phone contact with family. Seeing as they are both strays, I somehow became assigned their guardian and am listed as their only kin. How did this fall upon me? I’m old. All I want is to spend these golden years lying in the sun, watching the birds, eating treats to excess and enjoying every moment of quiet time with mom. How did I become the master coordinator and general in charge of “Mission Find Out What’s Going On Next Door” and how did I become guardian to two juvenile delinquents? ~ sigh ~ Fucking bastard neighbors. God damn stupid kids.

Thursday, October 16, 2008

The Evil Economy

I refuse to give in to the sweeping depression and widespread panic that has overcome the American public in regard to the turbulent economy. What is the point? I am a domestic house cat. I have no use for currency or investments, or any of the other day-to-day trappings that have humans so deeply tied into and influenced by the economy. The economy is not even a tangible, living entity. It’s a “thing”. I’m amazed by its power over people… It’s the equivalent of weather, perhaps… a force to be reckoned with? Something that can be glorious one minute and devastating the next? Although, humans created the stock market and capitalism, whereas weather is under no one’s control. It just simply is.

Anyway, if I were a panther in the wild, I’d live by my wits. I’d live day to day, roaming here and there, never knowing what’s on the menu and from where I’m going to get it… behind a rock? In a burrow? Knock it senseless from a tree? I would hunker down and sleep where I want… everything would be within my ability to possess, or not. Nothing would have value but the value you placed on it. If I were to return to the same place to sleep from the night before and find another creature there, I'd have several options: (1) to take the mentality of fairness telling myself “I shuffles my feet, I lose my seat” and mosey on to another spot, (2) decide to fight for the spot, (3) scare the creature out of the spot, or (4) make the creature my dinner and take said spot. I wouldn’t worry about college for my offspring…. I’d home school. Everything they need to know they can learn from me. Trends and fashions? Keeping up with the Joneses? I think not…. I have the ultimate fur coat and nothing with a Gucci label would endure the wilderness. BMW? No thanks, Ill walk. I walk everywhere. Besides, emmissions and the fuel to power these vehicles are destroying our ecosystem. And flashy hood ornaments stick out like a sore thumb… no way I’d get any hunting done with that thing blinging all over the place. And were I a creature of prey, I may as well just stand out in the wide open, place myself in a big bowl of salsa, stick a sprig of parsley behind my ear, wave a bright yellow flag and yell “come and get it” with a blow horn. I could go on and on, but I won’t. The point is, humans fuck everything up. I’m just sad that my mom has to get sucked down into all of it because of the greater human forces who created and control this whole economy.

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Dr. Drew Pinsky's call

OK, Dr. Drew has returned my call about Lenny & Squiggy's drug addiction. He's happpy to hear that no intervention was necessary and relieved to know that they cannot get their paws on anymore street drugs, but he is extremely concerned about their withdrawal process. Given the amount they've smoked in the last week, and since it was continuous... he's concerned that going cold turkey (I love that expression... turkey is delicious leftover and cold) may be stressful and possibly traumatic to their systems. He's got them both booked for a flight out to CA and into a 28 day program at his clinic. They leave tomorrow evening. Until then, he suggested I ease their withdrawal by weaning... he's recommended a little bit of catnip at 4 hour intervals. ~ sigh ~

I'm too old for this shit.

Good to be home

Well, the parental units have returned home from their long weekend away. I’m not so much happy to see dad as I am mom. My mom, I must say, is the most wonderful creature on the face of the Earth (I’m second most wonderful, of course). While I did not mind the stay at the luxurious cat resort, there’s nothing quite like being home. And of course having mom’s love and attention. I hear her constantly telling the idiot (my canine brother, not dad) how much she loves him and how cute he is, but I know she tells him this constantly because he needs the extra special attention. He’s a dog, and unfortunately his sense of self worth is based solely on the praise and reassurance from humans. I don’t get it. But, whatever.

So it’s back to business as usual here at the homestead as my mission continues. I returned to see that the Scumbag neighbors have decided to do only a partial fence replacement. If the entire fence is a rotting piece of crap, would you not replace the entire thing and not just half? ~ sigh ~ It has also been noticed that none of the junk that has lied dormant in their yard has been removed, but I’m relieved to report that there is no new junk added to the lot. I believe I may have advised that Rufus last reported that all has been relatively quiet over there recently, and while he was especially vigilant in his watch while we were all away, Rufus reports that the dirtbag son has STILL not been seen at the house. This makes us all wonder. However, just last night, we all had the pleasure of overhearing a screaming match at the house. The screaming typically only occurs when the son is present. But we could not make out any actual words, nor could we identify the participants so we remain clueless as to the subject of the fight or what provoked it. At least it did not escalate to the point of police involvement.

Lenny and Squiggy have used up the last of the scumbag’s lost and forgotten ganja stash. I have placed a call to Dr. Drew Pinsky as I believe a stint in rehab would be for the best. They've been trying to score some new stuff for a couple of days now, but not many dealers sell to cats. It’s probably because dealers do not see any value in dead mice in exchange for their drugs. Mice just do not have sufficient street value in the human world, and I’ve tried explaining this to Lenny & Squiggy when they came to me all strung out and twitchy, but they just couldn’t grasp the concept of the currency in the form of paper. Anyway, Dr. Drew may have his hands full with his second season of Celebrity Rehab, especially seeing as he’s got Kennikie back for a SECOND time… man, what a train wreck he is… but I feel as though Dr. Drew will be particularly attentive to the specific circumstances of Feline Drug Withdrawal and the most knowledgeable in effective methods of attaining and maintaining abstinence.

Thursday, October 9, 2008

things 'round here

I was unable to bring any of you up to date yesterday on the happenings at the Sanford & Son house for a number of reasons:

1 – It’s become uncharacteristically quiet and inactive over there which I find pleasant, yet a little discerning.

2 – Lenny & Squiggy have found a stash of ganja from the pile of rubble which was once the white trash’s makeshift garage and they’ve since morphed into Cheech & Chong. Who knows when I’ll see them again.

3 – Rufus is taking his tasks in this mission very seriously, and I believe he may have found his true calling. I also find some great irony in the fact that my two fellow feline have let me down, while a mentally challenged squirrel has risen to the occasion. Anyhow, seeing as that our white trash neighbors are night owls, Rufus has taken to sleeping during the day and doing his spying at night. I gave him sufficient funds to purchase the supplies he needs: night-vision goggles, fleece blanket & gloves for warmth and a thermos. Mom generously offered to supply the coffee but told Rufus he’d have to get his own thermos. I do realize that the schedule change Rufus has made for the sake of our mission is quite a sacrifice, as the cold weather sets in he should be spending the days foraging for his winter meals. As I do not want the little critter to starve this season, mom has agreed to set aside a stash of seeds and nuts for him all winter long.

4 – Parker has been monopolizing the computer to find out more information about this whole electric fence thing and is trying to come up with ways for Lily, the slut next door, to get around it without being shocked so that he can still see her walk by our house. I don’t want to break the poor mutt’s hopes and spirits, but unless Lily has a high threshold for pain fueled by deeper drive to break free or has masochist tendencies, I doubt he’ll be seeing her at all once that fence gets installed.

OK, going to catch up on some Z’s. Mom had a really rough night last night… when she doesn’t sleep, I don’t either….

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

Rufus the Super Squirrel

I received some feedback from some well-meaning friends who tried to discourage me from recruiting a the help of a squirrel in my mission to uncover the goings-on next door. I thought very long and hard about it. I feel that it is very unfair to judge one single squirrel based on the generalized reputation of the species on a whole. This particular squirrel, whose name is Rufus, is not only a warrior for me, but a warrior in life. Living with a mental disability, he has endured some of the cruelest taunting, been treated as an outcast and looked down upon by others as lesser. Rufus has fought all his life and only wants to be loved and accepted. He wants friends. This is something of which every one of us is worthy. I do not question his character in the slightest, nor will I tolerate it from others. I truly hope that all of my friends can look past their preconceived notions of squirrels and prior experiences and encounters with them, and only speak in favor of Rufus, rather than in opposition of him. He deserves a chance.

That being said, Rufus showed up on my window sill this afternoon happy, eager and ready to get right to work. He smiled at me, anxious to hear his mission for the day. When I told him I had added the responsiblity of keeping Lenny & Squiggy apart and in line, he smiled brightly at me and said, "Consider it done! I will do my best." No matter the outcome, I know he will have given it 110%. Before he lept away to head off on his task, he turned to me and and said, "I can do anything, Nuno... wanna know why?" When I replied that I would, he gave me smirk and did the following:

Mission Impossible

I am embarrassed to report a double failure in Operation Find Out What the Dirtbags Next Door Are Up To. Yesterday, a conversation took place in the Dirtbag’s yard which could have provided details that may have been crucial in my figuring out exactly what is going on over there. But both of my informants missed this opportunity to collect this vital information as they were too busy trying to catch a bunny. Evidently, both cohorts have been unsuccessful in their attempts at taking down a bunny on their own. So, they figured a tag-team effort would be more successful in awarding them a catch. It very well could have been a success were it not for the fact that the tag-team participants were the feline equivalent of Lenny & Squiggy. ~ sigh ~

So for today’s espionage mission, I have decided to split up "Lenny & Squiggy" and I've put the squirrel in charge….

Monday, October 6, 2008

Strange things are afoot....

Well, well, well…. Something very interesting is happening next door. The house on the corner, AKA The Sanford & Son house, which serves as home to the “people” my mother so delicately refers to as the “scumbag white trash next door”, is undergoing some exterior redecorating and clean-up. Now, my room happens to be on the other side of the house so I am unable to actually see what is going on over there. So I have recruited some informants. Even though Parker is on that side of the house, I can’t really rely on him to give me accurate reports seeing as he’s too obsessed with watching Lily and licking his privates. There are two outdoor neighborhood cats and a mentally-challenged squirrel who have agreed to observe, gather information and report back to me. The squirrel’s reports are basically confused & incoherent, rendering the information useless, but I admire his enthusiasm and effort – he gives it everything he’s got in every endeavor. The kid’s got heart. And, I just like him. I’ve also made the other two neighborhood cats in charge of his well-being. They know that should any harm come to the little guy, I will hold them personally responsible and sic Parker on their sorry asses.

So, it seems as though some unknown force has compelled these people to take down their makeshift “garage” – a dirt and lichen encrusted tarp stretched over a metal frame, which they’ve used to store two automobile skeletons and various greasy and rusty engine innards, tires, random & mismatched car pieces, tools, cigarette butts, beer cans and in all likelihood a stash of ganja and other illegal substances. The dirtbag son has not been seen or heard from in a month. It is suspected that he is in jail, as he is too much of a freeloading delinquent to get a place of his own. Of course, it is possible he may have shacked up with a junkie dirtball friend of his, but the prison scenario is a lot more probable. They have also repositioned the trampoline further into the yard, closer to the shack they call a house. I am hoping this was done to accommodate the removal of some of the wreckage they’ve been storing in their backyard... by moving the trampoline, they can now squeeze a dump truck in between it and the giant petri dish they call an-above-ground pool. I cannot describe to you what this yard looks like and the crap that is contained therein. You’ll have to take my word for it. Several new prefabricated fencing slabs have been spotted strewn on their front lawn. A logical assumption would be that they are intending to replace the rotting fence presently enclosing their junkyard. If the slabs lie there too long, they too will become as rotted as the fence already in place. ~ sigh ~

So, I have made two assumptions based on these recent events… (1) complaints about this property by surrounding neighbors have finally been taken seriously by the town who has now instructed the owners of this property to immediately bring their property up to acceptable standards, or (2) they have decided to move either due to free will or life events, and this sudden urge to fix things up is a desperate attempt to attract a buyer. I’ll keep you all posted. Here come my informants now with more information….

Sunday, October 5, 2008

Happy to have mom home

Aaaah. Mom is home. There is some magical transformation that occurs in mom whenever she goes away from home and is away from me for even one night.... upon her return, she turns to complete mush. In addition to she and I spending a couple of hours lying like useless lumps in bed and snuggling, the house becomes filled with irresistable aromas from the kitchen.... you see, she walks thru the door upon her arrival, throws her bag on the floor (which she'll leave there unpacked for days which drives dad nuts - it's kind of funny, actually... she and I laugh about it behind his back) she greets me with hugs and kisses, and promises me our alone time will come soon.... and then she announces to the house that she is so happy to be home and she reuses to leave for the rest of the day. And then she turns into Martha Stewart on ecstacy. She sends dad out to do the grocery shopping while she starts 3 different mouth-watering delectable things a brewing in the kitchen. Our time together usually occurs in between baking or simmering times and lulls between dinner prep and actual dinner. I had to laugh... dad came home from the store, and mom starts prepping dinner and says "Punky (that's my dad) you're gonna love this... I need you to go to the store... I forgot to put mozzarella on the list". So I'm in my room chuckling quietly to myself, thinking how great that mom of mine is. She's sending him back to the store.... precious. So she's got the eggplant going in the oven, soup has simmered and is cooling on the stovetop before it gets pureed.... she's chopping garlic, snipping fresh herbs, cleaning up as she goes along. Dad comes back with the cheese and a gift for mom... a mini pumpkin with a face painted on it. Aw, how cute. She kisses him and thanks him. So sweet. And I'm thinking, "where is my barfbag?" I know dad's working on getting some tonight. Anyway, mom is clinking and clanking away, and more wonderful smells are wafting through the house... and dad is eating taco flavored Doritos on the couch and watching buttball. Not exactly setting the mood if he really wants to get anywhere with mom tonight. Anyway, mom finally goes on break from the kitchen and we now have our time... just the two of us napping and watching whatever we want to watch on TV from he warmth and comfort of bed. Eventually, mom has to return to the kitchen to finish her magic. Next thing I hear is "Babe, (that's my dad) you're not going to believe this. How is it possible that we don't have single box of pasta in the house? There's no pasta." I can't SEE dad, but I imagine his head is ready to explode and I'm sitting there with my paws over my mouth trying not to let him hear me laugh and I'm thankful my litterbox is close by because I'm about to pee myself. She's sending him BACK to the store, AGAIN... priceless! Oh mom.... gotta love her. What a cool chick.

Yes, OJ the murderer, NOT the juice inventor

Ah, my young friends, I keep forgetting how young you both are and that there are things that have occurred in my lifetime but not in yours. The phrase "white bronco police chase" means nothing to you. Well, OJ is a nickname for man whose given birth name is Orenthal James Simpson. Yes, OJ is cutesy nickname for a popular morning beverage, however, if I had a name like Orenthal, I’d let you call me anything but Orenthal... even Papa Smurf or Captain Doody.

Anyway, OJ was an extremely popular athlete (football). If you don’t want to sit thru reels of boring old NFL footage, you could watch him on YouTube in some old Hertz rent a car commercials, or have your mom and dad rent the comedies Naked Gun and Naked Gun 2. After he retired from pro-football, he had a role in both these imbecilic yet oddly amusing movies and also appeared in several ads for Hertz Rental Cars. In your lifetime, celebrity crossovers are a dime a dozen... but in 1994, OJ made a very unexpected crossover... into crime. He brutally murdered his ex-wife and her friend. You are both young and I don’t want to give you any of the details. All you need to know as that the murder was brutal, gruesome and purely evil. Now as you know, our judicial system is just as fucked up as our political system. Throw in money, power, fame and the overplayed supposed issue of race and this ultimately led to a obviously guilty man being set free. This murder trial had practically every American tuning in and following along. You could stay online for a year reading about this event and still not read everything. Anyway, since the court system declared him innocent and he was free to return to life as usual, his name has surfaced in the news from time to time, one skirmish or another. And with his involvement in a completely different crime over a decade after he was set free from the murder charges in 1994, the court system has finally rendered him guilty with something else. He is going to jail.

What it boils down to is this... OJ is a despicable, twisted, evil man. Life in prison, or even a long stint in prison, is not good enough for this foul piece of human garbage. He deserves a lot worse than what he’s ultimately getting....

Saturday, October 4, 2008

OJ Found Guilty 13 Years Too Late

This is just so sad. OJ deserves to be behind bars... he actually deserves a lot worse. But our judicial system has done it's job of handing down the guity verdict 13 years too late and for the wrong crime. Not that he's not guity for this particuar crime, but it's an outrage and a travesty that he was not found guity 13 years ago for his worst crime ever. It saddens me. I really hope that the Brown and Goldman families find some sense of justice and solace knowing that OJ will NOT be living the rest of his life free and happy. Personally, I hope that 10 guys or so that are way larger than OJ decide to ake im their group bitch in prison. You can imagine the rest from there...

Friday, October 3, 2008

Autumn is in the Air

Well, it’s official…. Fall is here – summer is gone! Last night was wonderful sleeping all curled up in a ball between mom’s legs. Get your head out of the gutter and don’t be so disgusting… she is my mother and there is absolutely nothing “sexual” about this sleeping location. Humans make something sexual out of everything… what pitiful creatures. Anyhow, Dad, as usual, slept with just a sheet and thin blanket (as he is freakishly warm all the time). Mom, on the other hand, slept under three warm layers. This weekend she pulls out the heavy duty artillery… the comforter. I can’t wait.

I’ve decided not to be all bitter and resentful over Mom & Dad taking P with them to Jersey this weekend. I understand I’m a little more maintenance when it comes to travelling, not to mention my gramma’s husband is allergic to me. So, I couldn’t stay in their house… and I’ll be damned if I’m spending a night in the back of Dad’s the Blazer. No, I’ll be more comfortable, more content, here in my own home. And on the plus side, Aunt Jennifer will visit with me and I won’t have Parker’s intermittent barking outbursts to put up with throughout the day.

I’m starting to see a change in the bird species frequenting our yard. Living right by the salt marsh, I get to see so many varieties of birds I’ve only heard or read about. I’m going to go dust off my Bird Watching Guide so I can identify some of these new birds. I’ll also get out the cookbook… I wonder which will go best roasted served alongside some pumpkin risotto and roasted vegetables…

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

get me a lawyer!

I'd like to file a grievance. I don't know yet with whom, but I'd like it to go on record that I wish to file one. This weekend, my mom and dad are heading down to Jersey. In their absence, she has gotten me a "baby-sitter". What the FUCK is that about?!?! I am more than 17 years old... for what exactly do I need a baby-sitter? Granted, said baby-sitter is my Aunt Jennifer whom I love. She's cool and she loves me. She's known me all my life. However, and here is the point of contention here... mom and dad are not having her watch "us", no... she will be watching after ME, me and me alone.... the parental units are taking Parker with them to Jersey and leaving me here! What the hell!?!?!?!?!? This injustice is an outrage.

October 1st.... Lovely

My dear canine friend, Bob, has expressed concern over my self-bathing habits… he is fearful of my ingesting too much hair. While I wholly agree that fur is better covering the tummy as opposed to going in it, for some reason this is not a serious concern for cats. For one thing, amazingly enough, not very much hair actually gets ingested. Besides, if doing it was bad for us, we wouldn’t be blessed with the ability to do so, now would we? Besides, cats aren’t too fond of water. My mother will insist on bathing me with water herself every 6 months or so… I won’t say the episodes are traumatic in any way, but I still make it point to protest greatly (and loudly). I just can’t understand why she feels it necessary to put me through that when I do the job perfectly fine all by myself and in the way nature intended. Thanks for sharing your concern, Bob. I assure you that self-bathing & grooming is in no way harmful to us.

Happy October 1st everyone. October is my favorite month. Something about pumpkins and leaves changing and the wonderful smells of mom baking things like pumpkin bread and apple cake… and all sorts of things warm and homey with cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom, etc…. Also, the warmer blankets come out of the closet and take up residency on mom & dad’s bed for the season. Well, mom’s side at least. Dad is a freak – he insists that even when the temperature goes down as low as 45 in the evenings, that it’s “too warm for blankets”. He IS quite hairy, but I really don't think it's adequate to keep him warm at night. As far as I’m concerned, it just gives me more reason to sleep cuddled up close with mom.

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

Cats are Eco-friendly


Something to ponder....

If humans were as flexible and environment conscious as cats, do you realize the volume of water that would be saved globally on a daily basis by self bathing?

My Dearest Hound of Hackensack

I’ve been implicated and falsely accused by a certain Hackensack canine as uneducated in matters of the stock market… and I assume he also believes me to be just as unknowledgeable of worldly affairs as well. What he and his fellow canines fail to realize is that we felines know quite a lot about matters such as these. It is our lack of involvement and interest in these matters that leads them to this hasty and greatly erroneous accusation. You see, felines are amazing creatures with superior powers of adaptation. Have you ever seen a dog hunt? OK, let me rephrase… have you ever seen a dog successfully hunt? The answer is no. Dogs are noisy, rambunctious and overzealous. Their impatience and clumsiness doom them from survival of their own accord. They would not survive on their own were it not for humans. They need the humans to manufacture dog food, to earn money to buy the food, to use their opposable thumbs to open the food container and to then pour the food into the respective serving vessel. Without humans, canines would starve. They are also quite emotionally needy. Yes, yes… we all have emotions, feelings and needs. But these creatures behave as badly as grown men with the hang nail. He whines and bellows in supposed pain and puts on a performance worthy of an Oscar. “Oh woe is me…” Puh-leease! We cats, on the other hand, are far more emotionally evolved and secure. Contentment is found in simplicity. Solitariness is not lonely or scary. We do not sulk and give into feelings of insecurity or inadequacy simply because no one has given us attention in the past 2 hours. We can adapt to any situation, any environment. And we don’t whine about it. We are also able to climb trees to get out of harms way. We are self-sufficient. Not only do we take care of our own hygiene, but we hunt our own food. We are iconic creatures of stealth and precision. Canines, you watch us for hunting tips. Bring home your own meal for change (digging remnants out of the trash can does not count, nor do free handouts you extracted by from bleeding heart humans by giving them your poor sad puppy face, nor does eating your own vomit or poop). And by the way, when you DO catch something while hunting, your supposed prey has already been shot dead by your human and what do you do once your retrieve it? You surrender it completely by dropping it at your human’s feet. You just don’t get it, do you?

Native American lore speaks to the loyalty of the dog. It is said that long ago, the earth rumbled and began to shift, creating a great chasm in the earth’s crust. Man stood on one side, all of animal kind stood on the other. It was the dog who chose to leap over the chasm to stay by Man’s side. This has been interpreted by humans as a sign of dog’s loyalty. ~ sigh ~ Simple creatures; simple minds. Here is what I see as the first and last sign or act of intelligence in canine history. The dog knew that if he did not stay with the human, his kind would perish from the earth. To put it bluntly for those on the canine level, you’d get your asses kicked, my dears, by the elements of nature and larger, more fierce and/or cunning creatures. What your ancestor did was neither an act of allegiance or bravery; it was a knee jerk reaction born purely out of fear

I harbor no ill-will or feelings of hatred towards any canine. It is to no fault of their own that they are dim-witted. Besides, I believe the real reason canines choose to be educated in matters such as the stock market, political events, etc., is not so that can make a difference in the world nor serves as a means to support themselves one day, but rather because they fear their humans will not accept them if they don’t share their common interests. Hey dogs, when’s the last time your human drank out of the toilet with you?

yawn

My moronic brother (the canine) insists on barking crazily from inside the house as he watches Lily, the slut from next door, walk up the block past our house. Lily often walks unaccompanied by her human counterpart. For some reason, many of the canines in this area seem to have that freedom of being unburdoned of a leash or a human as they go about their daily outing. Canines are not too bright and I'm very surprised by this wandering freely thing. You see, it has been my observation that the humans who have us animals in their lives have formed these extremely emotional connections and deep feelings of love for us. So one would think that the human would be quite displeased with, and hence, make it impossible, for their beloved canine to go out unaccompanied as she/he may be either be struck by a vehicle, get lost (as I said, canines are not very bright) or even stolen. I don't know who would want to steal a dog, but I digress. Anyway, I don't know what my brother thinks all of his barking will accomplish. For one, Lily is oblivious to his existence. In addition to his unproductive and continuous barking, my brother runs around the house as if being chased by some invisble terror. Perhaps, in the act of running from one end of the house to other, he believes he will build up enough kinetic energy to bust the door open wide or blow the windows out, granting him access outside so he can get to Lily face-to-face. Second, it's embarrassing. I am embarrassed FOR him. The stupid mutt does not have non-skid treads on his feet and we have hardwood floors. You can picture this ridiculous sight, can't you? ~ sigh ~ Well, it's time to take another nap. I am old and tire easily.

Monday, September 29, 2008

A word from your master...

Recently, my stupid canine brother decided to participate in the blogspace belonging to two of his fellow canine cohorts. As if being a canine isn't bad enough... a fate even I would not wish upon my worst enemy... insult is added to injury when I inform you of the fact that these two canines also happen to hail from Jersey, the armpit of America. Presented with this information, I suspect you shuddered as I initially did, and that you also feel as strongly as I in the knowledge that nothing good can come of their silly little blog. So, I have decided to create my own blog, to demostrate the innate superiority of the feline... me in particular. You may call me arrogant. Call me what you like. I am unphased. I am not a dog who will sit obediently at anyone's feet, hanging on to every word they say with a big old stupid grin on my face and tail a waggin'. Not gonna happen. Instead, I will dictate my thoughts, opinions and observations on life to my human and she will input them into her silly little computer for all to read. A quick note about my human... she is not a clumsy half-wit such as yourself. Describing her in words is like trying to encapsulate the experience of standing at the edge of the Grand Canyon at sunset during Indian Summer. It simply can't be done. Just imagine beauty, brains, heart & perfection... multiply it by a jillion.... the end result is my human... my mom.